Zootopia Soundtrack Available on March 4

Magic Music

Playlist Author
Walt Disney Records Set to Release Zootopia Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Score Composed by Michael Giacchino
Film Features New Original Song "Try Everything" Performed by Shakira


 CD   iTunes   MP3 
Burbank, CA — Walt Disney Records releases the Zootopia soundtrack which features score by Oscar-winning composer, Michael Giacchino and the end-credit song "Try Everything" performed by Grammy-winning artist Shakira. The original motion picture soundtrack will be available wherever music is sold today, March 4, 2016. Walt Disney Animation Studios' "Zootopia," a comedy-adventure directed by Byron Howard("Tangled," "Bolt") and Rich Moore ("Wreck-It Ralph," "The Simpsons") and co-directed by Jared Bush ("Penn Zero: Part-Time Hero"), opens in theaters on March 4, 2016.

The modern mammal metropolis of Zootopia is a city like no other. Comprised of habitat neighborhoods like ritzy Sahara Square and frigid Tundratown, it's a melting pot where animals from every environment live together—a place where no matter what you are, from the biggest elephant to the smallest shrew, you can be anything. But when optimistic Officer Judy Hoppsarrives, she discovers that being the first bunny on a police force of big, tough animals isn't so easy. Determined to prove herself, she jumps at the opportunity to crack a case, even if it means partnering with a fast-talking, scam-artist fox, Nick Wilde, to solve the mystery.

Award-winning composer Michael Giacchino marks his first-ever feature collaboration with Walt Disney Animation Studios for "Zootopia." Featuring an 80-piece orchestra and conductor Tim Simonec, Giacchino's score reflects the diversity of the world.

"In a world as vast as Zootopia, we needed someone who could deliver a score that can feel exotic and powerful, but also provide that same emotional intimacy," says director Byron Howard. "We tell stories with images, Michael tells stories with music. 'Zootopia' is a massive film with deep emotional themes running throughout the story, and Michael was the perfect choice to bring the music of this extraordinary animal world to life."

Adds director Rich Moore, "Zootopia is a thriving metropolis inhabited by animals from around globe, and Michael's music has captured a wonderful international spirit that marries perfectly with the visuals. I'm very excited for audiences to experience this incredible new world we've created together."

According to the composer, the score is very diverse instrumentally. "There are flavors of world music sprinkled in everywhere. But at its core, the score always follows the emotional story of Hopps and Nick."

Giacchino's credits feature some of the most popular and acclaimed film projects in recent history, including Disney•Pixar's "Inside Out," "The Incredibles" and "Ratatouille," as well as "Jurassic World," "Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol" and "The Dawn of the Planet of the Apes." His score for Disney•Pixar's 2009 feature "Up" earned him an Oscar, a Golden Globe, the BAFTA, the Broadcast Film Critics' Choice Award and two Grammy Awards.

"I am really proud to be a part of this film," continues Giacchino. "It's one of those films with a huge heart and wonderfully realized characters set within a story that's not only incredibly fun and entertaining but takes an honest look at our own world and the important issues we deal with living in such a diverse society. That's what really attracted me to the film—the chance to write music that reflects these kind of challenges."

Performed by Shakira, "Try Everything" exemplifies Judy's journey from small-town bunny to big-city cop. The original song was written by Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Sia and songwriting duo Stargate. "I think that they really captured the spirit of the movie," says Shakira, "not only in terms of the music, but the lyrics, too. It's a song about being unafraid of your dreams and being willing to fight for them."

Michael Giacchino
 CD   iTunes   MP3 

Help support Magic Music by ordering your copy today!

Track List:

1. Try Everything (Shakira)
2. Stage Fright
3. Grey's Uh-Mad at Me
4. Ticket to Write
5. Foxy Fakeout
6. Jumbo Pop Hustle
7. Walk and Stalk
8. Not a Real Cop
9. Hopps Goes (After) the Weasel
10. The Naturalist
11. Work Slowly and Carry a Big Shtick
12. Mr. Big
13. Case of the Manchas
14. The Nick of Time
15. World's Worst Animal Shelter
16. Some of My Best Friends Are Predators
17. A Bunny Can Go Savage
18. Weasel Shakedown
19. Ramifications
20. Ewe Fell for It
21. Three-Toe Bandito
22. Suite from Zootopia

The Zootopia soundtrack is now available at iTunes, Amazon, and wherever music is sold.

SOURCE Walt Disney Records