Walt Disney Records Announces The Legacy Collection

Magic Music

Playlist Author
New Line Celebrates Milestone Anniversaries of Beloved Soundtracks

The Lion King Two Disc Set Available June 24th

Burbank, CA — Walt Disney Records' newly created line of collectible CDs, Walt Disney Records The Legacy Collection, will celebrate the anniversaries of Disney's most cherished and classic properties that have been enchanting audiences for generations. Through 2015, Walt Disney Records will celebrate 12 anniversaries including "Pinocchio" (75th), "Fantasia" (75th), "Cinderella" (65th), "Lady and the Tramp" (60th), "Sleeping Beauty" (55th), "Mary Poppins" (50th), "The Lion King" (20th) and "Toy Story" (20th), among others.

To honor these musical landmarks, Walt Disney Records The Legacy Collection will feature the beloved original soundtracks, plus valuable documentary content that tells the story behind the music. Each album will feature newly created artwork from Lorelay Bove, a visual development artist at Walt Disney Animation Studios ("Tangled," "Winnie the Pooh," "Wreck-It Ralph"). The illustrations, inspired by the original properties, will celebrate Disney's rich heritage and create a unified look for the entire collection.

The first release in the series is The Lion King, a two-disc set featuring the original motion picture soundtrack, 30 minutes of previously unreleased score, plus liner notes by Don Hahn (producer) and Oscar-winning composer Hans Zimmer. Track list follows:

Disc One
  • Circle of Life/Nants' Ingonyama Performed by Carmen Twillie, African Vocals Performed by Lebo M
  • Didn't Your Mother Tell You Not to Play With Your Food Score
  • We Are All Connected Score
  • Hyenas in the Pride Land Score
  • I Just Can't Wait to Be King Performed by Jason Weaver with Rowan Atkinson and Laura Williams
  • Elephant Graveyard Score
  • I Was Just Trying to Be Brave Score
  • Be Prepared Performed by Jeremy Irons with Whoopi Goldberg, Cheech Marin and Jim Cummings
  • Simba, It's to Die For Score
  • Stampede Score
  • Mufasa Dies Score
  • If You Ever Come Back We'll Kill You Score
  • Bowling for Buzzards Score
  • Hakuna Matata Performed by Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella with Jason Weaver and Joseph Williams
  • We Gotta Bone to Pick With You Score
  • Kings of the Past Score
  • Nala, Is It Really You? Score
  • Can You Feel the Love Tonight Performed by Joseph Williams and Sally Dworsky with Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella and Kristle Edwards
  • Remember Who You Are Score
  • This Is My Home Score
  • The Rightful King Score
Disc Two
  • The Morning Report Performed by James Earl Jones, Jeff Bennett and Evan Saucedo
  • Warthog Rhapsody Performed by Nathan Lane and Ernie Sabella
  • We Are All Connected Score Demo
  • I Was Just Trying to Be Brave Score Demo
  • Stampede Score Demo
  • Mufasa Dies Score Demo
  • This Is My Home Score Demo
  • The Rightful King Score Demo
  • Circle of Life Instrumental Demo
  • Circle of Life Performed by Elton John
  • I Just Can't Wait to Be King Performed by Elton John
  • Can You Feel the Love Tonight (End Title) Performed by Elton John
Walt Disney Records The Legacy Collection The Lion King two-disc set will be released on June 24th.

The Legacy Collection: The Lion King
Various Artists
 CD   iTunes   MP3 

Help support Magic Music by ordering your copy today!

SOURCE Walt Disney Records


The release schedule for Walt Disney Records The Legacy Collection is as follows:


The Legacy Collection: The Lion King (June 24, 2014)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Mary Poppins (August 25, 2014)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Sleeping Beauty (October 7, 2014)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: The Little Mermaid (November 24, 2014)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 


The Legacy Collection: Fantasia (January 13, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Pinocchio (February 10, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Lady and the Tramp (April 28, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Cinderella (June 16, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Toy Story (July 10, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Pocahontas (August 7, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: The Aristocats (August 21, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

The Legacy Collection: Disneyland (August 21, 2015)
Various Artists

 CD   iTunes   MP3 

David S.


This is awesome news! I guess I should check this board more often.

Two things immediately caught my eye about the first release, Lion King:

a ) It will finally have more of the score on its soundtrack, and
b ) the score cues will be integrated with the songs, like on Randy's Classic Soundtrack Series.

In many ways, this is like coming full circle for me. I first discovered this board in the late '90s while looking for information on the Classic Soundtrack Series, which I was obsessed with collecting and is still a cornerstone of my CD collection. (My first post on this board, and the entire Internet, was about those Classic Soundtrack CDs).

Some other thoughts:

* I bet Randy has a hand in this!

* It's exciting that Aristocats will finally be getting the deluxe CD treatment!

* I plan on collecting all of these and hope they are successful enough to expand to other deserving classics, such as Snow White, Dumbo, Bambi, Alice, Peter Pan, 101 Dalmatians, Jungle Book, and later include some more that never got the deluxe classic soundtrack treatment, (like Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh, Song of the South, 3 Cabelleros, etc.)

* As someone who has made ZERO concessions to the download/iPod movement and doesn't feel like I actually own an album unless I have a REAL, physical release, I am thrilled that these will be real, physical CD releases.


Active Member
Toy Story was not released today and Amazon is advertising the next release as Cinderella on June 23, 2015. No Disneyland either? has anyone heard about a revised release schedule or are these not selling well? So far only The Lion King and The Little Mermaid have released new soundtrack tracks. The others have only included semi-historical tracks, demos, or "deleted" songs.