Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin Available on August 17

Magic Music

Playlist Author
Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin, Featuring Former Beach Boy, Available August 17

Kennith Jones, - Tue Aug 17, 6:18 pm ET

[floatright][img][/img][/floatright]Brian Wilson, co-founder of the Beach Boys, sings the classics of Broadway and Hollywood composer George Gershwin on the new recording, "Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin," on the Disney Pearl label. It's in stores and available through online retailers starting Aug. 17. A special vinyl edition will be released Aug. 24.

Listeners can expect the classics "Rhapsody in Blue," "I Got Rhythm" and "Summertime," plus two "new" songs — "The Like in I Love You" and "Nothing But Love" — with Wilson music blended with never-before-published music by Gershwin. Did Wilson write new lyrics? A spokesperson told, "Brian worked/collaborated with two of his longtime band members on lyrics (Scott Bennett) and the orchestral arrangements (Paul Von Mertens)."

Wilson said in a statement, "Along with Irving Berlin, Gershwin basically invented the popular song, but he did something more. He had a gift for melody that nobody has ever equaled, yet his music is timeless and always accessible. This is the most spiritual project I've ever worked on."

The disc is produced by Wilson, mixed by multi-Grammy winner Al Schmitt and features Wilson's band. The album, according to the label, "features the trademark stacked vocal harmonies and orchestrations that made Wilson a towering and revered figure in popular music."

An a capella version of the groundbreaking 1924 orchestral piece "Rhapsody in Blue," showcasing Wilson's vocal harmonies, opens and closes the album.

"The Like in I Love You" is based on "Will You Remember Me?," a song Gershwin composed in 1924 for the musical Lady, Be Good!, which never made it into the show. "Nothing But Love" is based on "Say My Say," a 1929 song fragment the Gershwin brothers (composer George and lyricist brother Ira) never fully completed.

According to label notes, in 2009, "Warner/Chappell Music and the Gershwin estates made available to Wilson more than 100 piano demos of unfinished or obscure songs and melodies left by George Gershwin at his death in 1937. Wilson narrowed these fragments down to two favorites, then created new music blending both the Wilson and Gershwin styles."

The following is a complete track listing for "Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin":

  1. Rhapsody in Blue (Intro)
  2. The Like in I Love You
  3. Summertime
  4. I Loves You, Porgy
  5. I Got Plenty o' Nuttin
  6. It Ain't Necessarily So
  7. 'S Wonderful
  8. They Can't Take That Away from Me
  9. Love Is Here to Stay
  10. I've Got a Crush on You
  11. I Got Rhythm
  12. Someone to Watch Over Me
  13. Nothing But Love
  14. Rhapsody in Blue (Reprise)
Wilson, a Southern California native, along with his brothers, a cousin and a friend, formed the Beach Boys while still in his teens. With Wilson as chief songwriter and arranger, the band enjoyed dozens of hits, including "I Get Around," "Help Me, Rhonda," "California Girls," "Wouldn't It Be Nice," and the No. 1 smash "Good Vibrations."

For more information on Walt Disney Records releases, visit, become a fan at Facebook, or follow on Twitter. For more information on Brian Wilson, visit

Buy: :cd: CD | B) [itunes='']iTunes[/itunes] | :mp3: MP3