1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hello, Guest! Do you have any shopping to do at Amazon? You can help support Magic Music by using our special link. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Attention: Owners of Tokyo Disneyland Small World CD

Discussion in 'Archive' started by wedroy1923, Jul 6, 2002.

  1. wedroy1923

    wedroy1923 Moderator Premium Member Playlist Author

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello,

    I am thinking about ordering the Small World disc from CD Japan but had a question: How much of the attraction's queue music is included on the disc?

    I am assuming that the Tokyo version of Small World uses the same queue music that I have come to love at WDW's Small World. Any help is greatly appreciated!

    wedroy1923
     
  2. Gurgitoy2

    Gurgitoy2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    There isn't any queue music on the CD.
     
  3. MitchB

    MitchB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just received the Small World CD and even though
    it doesn't have any of the queue music it's still a
    fantastic disc! It would have been nice if it had
    been on the CD,however I think the queue music
    was available from Disneyland Forever listed as
    It's A Small World "Area Music" (1:53) Does anyone
    know if this is queue music or was it music used to blend as you go from area to another?
    Disneyland Forever also had the Small World Clock
    piece. Perhaps the clock isn't used at Tokyo Disneyland.
    Anybody have an answer? -MitchB
     
  4. Charles

    Charles New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "area music" you mentioned is simply an instrumental version of the Disneyland attraction soundtrack. Here at Disneyland, it is used in the cue area and is not the same as the cue music at Walt Disney World or Tokyo Disneyland.
     
  5. JoeInJpn

    JoeInJpn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    The clock is used at Tokyo Disneyland's IASW attraction. Every 15 minutes there is a small show.

    JoeInJpn
    http://www.jtcent.com
     
  6. Scott

    Scott Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, we all know the new copy protection is on the TDL Small World CD. I'm curious what people's experiences are with the CD.

    I've not yet gotten to play it straight through once yet without getting *huge* pauses between tracks. Of course, on this CD, since it's supposed to be a seamless float-through, that makes the gaps even more annoying.

    Is there anything that can be done about this? I'm not even worried about trying to rip it on the computer, I just want to play the dang thing...and they've taken away that, too.
     
  7. MitchB

    MitchB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    My CD plays without pausing between tracks. I've played it on two different players and I've not
    noticed any pauses between tracks. I wish since
    they went to the trouble of making a special CD
    for the attraction they would have included all
    the music. (Clocks, queue area) Perhaps the
    folks at Disneyland that put together the Haunted
    Mansion and Pirates CDs will start working on
    other attractions. I'd be happy to provide them
    with my wish list. -Mitch
     
  8. JoeInJpn

    JoeInJpn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know about the pauses you're referring too. I just tried it on a 10-year old Panasonic CD player, a 1-year old Aiwa CD stereo system, a 1-year old Sony Vaio desktop, and 2-year old IBM ThinkPad...no pauses...no errors, seems like a continuous track.

    JoeInJpn
    http://www.jtcent.com
     
  9. Scott

    Scott Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it's just me. :( Maybe I actually have a bad physical disk or something. I've tried playing it on my PC--just flat out doesn't work--and on both CD players I've tried, I get random long pauses every now and again between tracks.

    Of course, this would happen on a disk I can't just take back to Tower or Virgin...heheh. C'est la vie... ::)
     
  10. Gurgitoy2

    Gurgitoy2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bill's right, the CD wasn't very nice to my PC. It made it crash. It would play fine using its own player, but I tried using MusicMatch, and it wouldn't cooperate.

    The CD does play just fine on my discman, and my stereo, and there are no pauses between tracks. I just don't recommend playing it on your computer.
     
  11. sds910

    sds910 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I just did some testing on the disc and was able to use Easy CD-DA Extractor on my PC to successfully rip the CD with no problem. Apparently, the key is to define the length of time you rip from the final audio track to be 2 seconds less than the apparent time displayed by your app. So, in other words, you'd rip tracks 1-42, then rip track 43 separately, two seconds shorter than the full track length shown. Those two seconds contain no actual audio data.

    Now, of course, I was only doing this to create an MP3 for personal use on my MP3 player. Just so we're all aboveboard here.
     
  12. Michael Zielski

    Michael Zielski Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried to copy this CD using a CD player/recorder that is NOT computer-based, like the one that I have as part of my "stereo system"? Will it work, or would such an attempt cause "meltdown"? I still haven't got the CD, but I was just checking on cdjapan to see what ELSE I need before ordering it! Mike.
     
  13. Michael Zielski

    Michael Zielski Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Bill--actually, I wasn't anticipating copying the Small World CD, but anticipating what to do about copying if this copy protection phenomenon becomes more prevalent! So, it sounds as though "it" doesn't like letting you make a digital copy--I have a dual-tray CD recorder, so it sounds as though if I tell it to make an analog copy I should be OK?!? Mike.
     
  14. Michael Zielski

    Michael Zielski Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bill, on my Sony model, you can change the input to either analog or digital. Even now with certain CD's, if I ask the recorder to make a digital copy, it won't, and will automatically choose the analog mode(I'm not sure of the reason, I wasn't aware of any copy protection). I wonder if this is what will happen if I try to copy the Small World CD. But, in any case, as you say, I certainly can't hear the difference between analog and digital! As I mentioned though, one of my main concerns is just getting prepared for a potential future of copy protection CD's. Mike.
     

Share This Page